I like this blog entry a lot and not just because I’m in it. I like it because it reminds me that I didn’t go through two plus years of hell for nothing; that me losing my job and literally counting quarters to go food shopping and going crazy and losing everything that was important to me had, and has, meaning. I don’t often couch those two plus years as a sacrifice. Instead, I often talk about it being just how things fell out for me, but that’s selling myself short. That particular series of sacrifices left me strong and spiritually lean and provided a solid foundation to be built upon, which is the process I’m in now.

I also think it’s important to note that sacrifice on a spiritual path is very rarely a one-shot deal. For me, I sacrifice every time I bend to His will. At His word, I will have no mortal spouse, no children, and a whole host of other things that I chose to go along with. It isn’t easy and it hurts a lot..but it’s not a sacrifice if it easy and painless.

This blog entry came at a perfect time for me and has bolstered my faith in where my feet lay just enough to get me through a very difficult day.

Sex, Gods, and Rock Stars

There’s been an uptick in my network of colleagues; people who range from being mildly worried to furiously angry when they ask “How do I get a Godphone/hear the Gods better/develop Sight/become a God’s spouse?”

I feel for them. I know what it’s like to sit in the darkened silence, praying, knowing that a single word, touch, or even omen-like coincidence would be all the assurance I needed in the world. Yes, I am saying that even though I do experience messages from the Gods and have a reciprocal relationship with some of my patrons, there are also times when I sit in the darkened silence as well.

It makes you feel like it’s all in vain; maintaining the altars, studying the Lore, keeping up with your spiritual practice, and sometimes merely calling yourself a devotee of a specific God or even just a Pagan. Many of us set out…

View original post 1,372 more words

~ by Alex on February 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
