Catching my breath, kind of.

Since EtinMoot, I’ve had a bit of a reprieve, it would seem. Nothing appears to be as hurried or as pressured as it was and that is a HUGE relief, particularly as the next semester is getting ready to start. That doesn’t mean I am off the hook with any of the stuff that has been laid before me, though. Far from it, actually. What I believe this to be is a brief period to catch my breath and make sense of all the things I have been told to do. I get to develop a plan of attack and get on with it. Should I choose not to follow up on my assignments, well…

That doesn’t mean that there isn’t new stuff, either.

I’m about 95% sure that I’ve identified the Orisha that has been hanging around, but I still need to get the cash together to see a traditional reader before I make any commitments either way. He requested a few things, so He now has offerings laid out in my space.

I somehow managed to push out of my mind the fact that this Saturday is a big feast day for Sekhmet. On the Kemetic calendar, it’s the Festival of Drunkenness/Intoxication that, as I understand it, celebrates the subduing of Sekhmet by Ra via beer that was colored to look like blood. I’m not Kemetic, but once the idea of having a feast day for Her crossed my mind, it was a foregone conclusion that I would be celebrating it. I have a deep suspicion that She’s not terribly attached to it being the Festival of Drunkenness but more that I do something a bit expansive for Her. I didn’t realize it was going to be such a spend-y thing, but whatever. If it makes Her happy/content/pleased, then it’s worth it.

So, over the next few days, I will be buying things in preparation. Once I wake up on Saturday afternoon, I will cleanse according to Her instructions [rather simple, really—shower and make sure my head is smooth] and begin preparation of all the food to be placed at Her shrine. I’ve been instructed to offer people the opportunity to have prayers said on their behalf or petitions placed at Her shrine, but I’ll make a separate post about that.

Almost exactly a month later is the fourth anniversary of me making my oath to Mr. Mister. This will be the first year I’ve observed it and I have no idea why it never occurred to me before to do anything to mark the occasion. He hasn’t said if He wants anything specific yet and I suspect He will leave it largely up to me. I have absolutely not one clue what to do, but I’ve got a month to figure it out, I suppose.

And that’s that. I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity to have a bit of a mental rest before the semester begins, but I’m feeling a bit wary as to how I will juggle all of this new stuff and four classes and forty hours at my day job and everything else that I do. Ultimately, however, it’s up to me to make it work. I keep telling myself that I have always wanted an adventure and now I have one.

~ by Alex on August 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
